Sports

Brazil vs Germany & Olympics Men’s soccer: TV channel, live stream, team news & matchday one preview

Advertisement


The defending Olympic champions kick off the defence of their title in Yokohama on Thursday

Brazil begin their defence of their 2016 Olympic Games men’s football title on Thursday with a tough test against Germany in Yokohama.

Watch the Olympics on fuboTV (free 7-day trial)

The Selecao took the gold medal on home soil in Rio de Janeiro five years ago inspired by Neymar, and while the Paris Saint-Germain forward is not in their squad this time round, with the likes of Dani Alves and Richarlison they still have plenty of star power as they look to retain the crown.

Ahead of the game, Goal has the details of how to watch on TV, stream online, team news and more.

TV channel, live stream & how to watch

In the United States (US), this year’s Olympics soccer games can be watched live and on-demand with fuboTV (watch with a 7-day free trial).

New users can sign up for a free seven-day trial of the live sports streaming service, which can be accessed via iOS, Android, Chromecast, Amazon Fire TV, Roku and Apple TV as well as on a web browser.

Team news & rosters

* Denotes over-23 player

Position Brazil roster
Goalkeepers Brenno, Lucao, Santos*
Defenders Nino, Ricardo Graca, Guilherme Arana, Gabriel Menino, Dani Alves*, Diego Carlos*, Abner Vinicius, Bruno Fuchs.
Midfielders Matheus Henrique, Bruno Guimaraes, Douglas Luiz, Claudinho, Reinier.
Forwards Gabriel Martinelli, Paulinho, Richarlison, Matheus Cunha, Antony, Malcom.

Brazil fell short in their bid to defend the Copa America title this summer, but will be hoping for better fortunes in the Games. 

Advertisement

Just one player, Everton star Richarlison was chosen for both tournaments, with Dani Alves chosen as captain in Japan after sitting out the Copa. 

Predicted Brazil starting XI: Santos, Daniel Alves, Diego Carlos, Nino, Guilherme Arana; Douglas Luiz, Bruno Guimaraes, Claudinho; Richarlison, Matheus Cunha, Antony.

Position Germany roster
Goalkeepers Brodersen, Muller, Plogmann.
Defenders Henrichs, Pieper, Raum, Torunarigha, Uduokhai, Schlotterbeck.
Midfielders Amiri*, Arnold*, Jakobs, Lowen, Maier, Stach, Ache.
Forwards Max Kruse*, Richter, Teuchert.

Germany’s Olympic preparations have been far from straightforward, with many clubs declining to release their star players for the tournament. 

Max Kruse, Nadiem Amiri and Maximilian Arnold make the cut as over-23s, while the team does include five members of the squad which lifted the U21 European Championship in June. 

Predicted Germany starting XI: Muller; Henrichs, Pieper, Torunarigha, Raum; Arnold, Amiri, Maier; Kruse, Teuchert, Richter.

Matchday one fixtures

Fixtures Kickoff time
Mexico vs France 4am ET, 1am PT
Japan vs South Africa 7am ET, 4am PT
New Zealand vs South Korea 4am ET, 1am PT
Honduras vs Romania 7am ET, 4am PT
Egypt vs Spain 3:30am ET, 12am PT
Argentina vs Australia 6.30am ET, 3.30am PT
Ivory Coast vs Saudi Arabia 4.30am ET, 1.30am PT
Brazil vs Germany 7.30am ET, 4.30am PT



Source link

Leave a Reply